Isabel Cosio Carballo

Isabel Cosio Carballo

Phone: 954.985.4416

Isabel Cosio Carballo joined the Council in November 1996 as the Eastward Ho! regional coordinator. Throughout her 19 year tenure at the Council she has held positions of significant responsibility, most recently becoming executive director in January 2016.

Isabel has focused on the creation of collaborative, broad-based partnerships with public and private sector, non-profit, philanthropic, and community leaders to identify areas of opportunity for the region and address issues of regional concern such as transportation, affordable/workforce housing, education, access to opportunity, and economic development.

Isabel spearheaded and organized, in collaboration with the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council and other regional stakeholders, the Southeast Florida Regional Partnership and its successful application to the U.S. HUD Inaugural Sustainable Communities Regional Planning Grant Program. In October 2010 the Southeast Florida region was named one of 45 inaugural “Sustainable Communities” securing Southeast Florida $4.25 million for a seven-county regional planning and capacity building process. Completed in 2014, and matched by more than $2.3 million in local contribution, the Seven50: Southeast Florida Prosperity Plan lays the groundwork for the region’s future development, prosperity, and sustainability.

Prior to joining the Council in 1996, Ms. Carballo served as chief of staff and legislative assistant to now Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart, and legislative liaison for Broward County. She has a Bachelor of Arts from the McComb School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin and Master of Public Administration from Florida International University. She is U.S. HUD’s designated liaison for the Sustainable Communities program, vice chair of the Good Government Initiative, board member of the Greater Fort Lauderdale Alliance, steering committee member of the Alliance’s Six Pillars Initiative, and member of the Broward County Climate Change Task Force.